Change, Please

Nerdly shut down last month due to some Google Adsense bobbins that is far too dumb and arbitrary to go into here. Short version is…don’t feature pictures from gory horror movies on your horror/genre blog, I guess?

The first review I wrote for them was a review of Warren Ellis’ novel Gun MachineThe last was a piece on the Criterion edition of It Happened One Night. Technically I started writing for the site in 2009 when it was Blogomatic 3000, but I don’t have access to the archives so you’ll just have to use your imagination until I get my hands on those old (maybe terrible?) pieces.

I’m considering starting a side-blog exclusively for my writing on film. This place has been cluttered with stray notions and cobwebs for a while now, and I might even be able to maintain something with a single focus far better than this brain dump.

[Though, of course, now I’ve mentioned that it may be doomed never to happen.]

A panel from Plutona #5, written by Jeff Lemire & illustrated by Emi Lenox

In the meantime, like any good scavenger I went looking for other places to ply my wares and found Flickering Myth, where I’m doing comic and movie reviews for the foreseeable future.

So far I’ve covered new issues of East of West, Cry Havoc, the brutal finale of Plutona and the promising first installment of conspiracy thriller Throwaways. The pay is peanuts and I know that “hey, free comics and movies isn’t a bad deal” is a chump’s line, but deadlines keep me working and – for now – it’s far better than not writing.

In other news, my dad died two months ago today. I wrote something about that on Medium; grief and learning and realising he was probably not the man he presented to me for 25 years.

I turned 26 two weeks ago. I just connected those dots and realised I’m now in a post-dad era. Numerically speaking, anyway. Well, I had him for a quarter century. My guess is that people who get a hundred years tell you it’s still not enough time.

Speaking of time constraints, I and my friends Dave & Alice went on a [THOUGHT BUBBLES] hiatus almost a year ago. Yesterday our first new episode since September 2015 went live, and it’s a doozy. This one’s a departure in many ways that I’ll go into in a later post, but I’m pretty thrilled with how it turned out (but mostly just that we’re making these things again. I’d recommend short bursts of creation to absolutely everyone) so yeah, go and watch it.

Alice, the musical side of the project, creates beautiful, dreamy synth pop under the name Mayshe-Mayshe. You can listen to one of her tracks above. I’m biased but I think Alice is great; she’s putting out two EPs and going on tour in the next couple of months so you’ll have plenty of chances to judge for yourself.

I’m going to update this blog more frequently. I know I say that every time and then you don’t hear from me for three months but I’m trying out this whole “discipline” thing and I think it might stick.

The current state of British politics

Oh, and my country’s about to collapse under the weight of its own apathy and xenophobia, the economy’s in freefall and the British political arena is looking more and more like Thunderdome every day.

Plus I’m quitting my job and leaving my flat within the span of two days in August so I might have some spare time on my hands. Gulp.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

thestreetnames

Little slices of London's history

Seitans Daughter

A Gothic Chick Who Likes To Cook Vegan Yummies

Lezzing Off The Land

grub, green issues and gays

Smash Cut

my thoughts on film, games, anime, and more

FEEDBACK Female Film Festival

Showcasing the best of female talent. Filmmakers and Screenwriters

[See/Hear]

Film reviews, lists and essays by Mark Allen

Beyond Monopoly!

York's friendliest boardgame club!

On the Screen Reviews

The New Orleans Film Critic

Tales of Bacon

A Medieval Comedy Pilgrimage Webseries

omenana.com

Omenana is an African speculative fiction magazine that is open to submission from speculative fiction writers from across Africa and the African Diaspora.

Stitch's Media Mix

A critical Stitch.

maxrennblog

Busting out of Bristol, mainly movie talk

Del Nolan

None of it is real

Bolton the Writer

Author of Fantasy Fiction & Short Stories

Projected Figures

Film Bits and Bobs

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

Alien in the Outfield

The best in extra-terrestrial sports comic excitement!

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.