Pun Approval

So I got some more notes on my medieval educational film from someone else, i.e. an actual expert, and it turns out that I’ve still got a lot to work on, which is all right by me. I find it much more comforting when the finished product barely resembles the initial outline or draft, as it tends to illustrate progress in most cases (excluding Hollywood blockbusters, in which case most of them might be a hell of a lot better off if they were simply faithful to a shitty first draft) and, I don’t know, growth in me?

So I’ve got stuff to change in it and a lot of new material came up in yesterday’s meeting, including permission to be a heck of a lot sillier. I’d been holding back somewhat as certain, more out there aspects of my sense of humour aren’t always well received and I didn’t want to freak out these people who don’t know me yet quite so quickly. I’m sure I already have in a dozen other ways, but at least it’s not like that.

And it paid off, because I now have pun approval. That’s the good news.

The bad news is they expect me to film the damn thing. This week, too.

Cue me cursing my ambitions for heavily-laden feasting tables and period extras every which way and striving to come up with a name for a believable-sounding supervirus that I can ‘come down with’ as soon as I hand off the final draft.

That’s what I was thinking earlier today. It was immediately followed by this question: why am I reluctant to make a film?

There are many reasons and rationalisations, from the fact that I’m not getting paid to my usual unease with the idea of casting for a no-budget film, but chief among them is that I don’t want to be responsible for making a mess of what I think might be a fun video.

Of course, this is the price you pay when you go around telling folks you’re “a filmmaker”. You really can’t be shocked when they expect you to be able to, y’know, make a film.

I’m working on the bedsheet rope as you read this. I’ll let you know how the escape plan works out.

In other not-quite-news, here’s my Nerdly review of Dexter Season 7. It’s funny, it’s sexy, it’s coldly violent and regularly disturbing – fun for the whole (incestuous, sociopathic) family!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Beyond Monopoly!

York's friendliest boardgame club!

Omm Nomm

We love food. Get stuffed!

Tales of Bacon

A Medieval Comedy Pilgrimage Webseries

omenana

Giving life to speculative fiction; because stories breathe here

Stitch's Media Mix

Books. Comics. Film. TV. Here be nerdery in spades.

maxrennblog

Busting out of Bristol, mainly movie talk

Aniket Sharma Photography

World through my lens

Del Nolan

None of it is real

Bolton the Writer

Author of Fantasy Fiction & Short Stories

Projected Figures

Film Bits and Bobs

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

alienintheoutfield.wordpress.com/

The best in extra-terrestrial sports comic excitement!

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

