The Short Film Experiment #1 – Schemes

It turns out the best way to motivate myself is to badger other people into setting goals for themselves and subsequently feel guilty that I don’t have a similarly worthy aim to strive for, thus leading me to create a punishment befitting my crime of laziness. Call it the sado-masochistic approach to productivity, if you will.

I’m in a weird place writing-wise at the moment because I have two screenplays currently in vastly different stages, neither of which I can actually interfere with at the moment. Scars is doing the feedback rounds for its second draft, and it’s best to let it cool for a couple of months before diving into a new one, and my as-yet untitled collaboration with another writer is currently being reworked at the treatment stage by my partner. There are other projects I’m nominally involved in, but I don’t actually have anything to do until either we have a meeting about it or they write the first draft of a thing.

And here I am, twiddling my thumbs and being about as much use as a vegan vampire. So I decided I’m going to write a new short film, which is something I haven’t done in almost a year.

I’ve been um-ing and ah-ing about whether or not to start something new what with all the upcoming projects I’m due to work on, but I realised that it’s dumb to be waiting on other people in order to have any purpose at all, and any time I could be writing and I’m not is time wasted. So I told my screenwriters’ group that I’m going to have a short to show them all at our next meeting (in two weeks) and, to prove I’m not lying when I tell you it was a rousing success and I received a standing ovation for my outstanding contribution to brevity, I’ll let you have a look at it too.

It might be fun to be transparent about the whole  process and post each part of the process as it comes – each draft, maybe an outline of the story and (if I’m feeling brave) even an unedited brainstorm between myself and the page – and if I (or someone else) eventually decide it’s good enough to get made then I’ll talk about that process too, so you can see what the production of a no-budget, semi-amateur, barely enough food to feed the crew production looks like from premise to premiere.

Unless it’s terrible, in which case it will most definitely be fun for everyone except for me who will be quietly (loudly) sobbing in the corner of the room.

And no, I don’t have any ideas yet. Of course I have ideas I could use (there are at any one time at least 9 short film/story ideas hidden away in my phone), but I’d like to go into this one completely fresh in order to share the complete process from start to finish, updating my progress on here on every (non-boring) aspect.

I don’t know if anyone will find it interesting in any way whatsoever, but I figure at the very least future bloggers will have something to link to when they want to discuss how not to write/make/exhibit short film.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Beyond Monopoly!

York's friendliest boardgame club!

Omm Nomm

We love food. Get stuffed!

Tales of Bacon

A Medieval Comedy Pilgrimage Webseries

omenana

Giving life to speculative fiction; because stories breathe here

Stitch's Media Mix

Books. Comics. Film. TV. Here be nerdery in spades.

maxrennblog

Busting out of Bristol, mainly movie talk

Aniket Sharma Photography

World through my lens

Del Nolan

None of it is real

Bolton the Writer

Author of Fantasy Fiction & Short Stories

Projected Figures

Film Bits and Bobs

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

alienintheoutfield.wordpress.com/

The best in extra-terrestrial sports comic excitement!

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

