The Escape Plan

I need to get out of here.

After recently wandering out of the muggy and cloudlike state that holiday consumption of rich, free food and 300% more alcohol per week than usual, I kind of realised that it’s time I hightailed it back to York.

Now, I’ve gotten some work done here, made great progress on the screenplay redrafting, in fact. But remember when I said I wanted to get it done by the new year?

Yeah. Can’t exactly ask 2013 to hold off for a few more days.

The thing with being in Scarborough is that it inspires a unique idleness in you (an infamously idle fellow in the first place) that results from a lack of responsibility and an overabundance of free food and old movies on tap that can usually only be broken by a drastic shift in equilibrium like the death of a former teacher or, say, moving back to the town where you actually get shit done.

I reached this realisation some time on Thursday around 3am in local hive of scum and villainy Vivaz as I failed to get drunk enough to null my senses to the point of being unaware that I have fewer friends left in this town than morons who want to pull me into their insipid self-made dramas as though we were anything more than former classmates who are even vaguely aware of one another’s lives in between jaunts back to the swamp.

[I get homesick in the worst way.]

A lot of which turns up thematically in the movie, coincidentally, so my grief is offset by the rationalisation that “it’s all research”.

Regardless: I’m Yorkward bound as of tomorrow, and I’ll be damned if I haven’t got this draft licked in a week’s time.

I’ll let you know if I make it over the fence.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Omm Nomm

We love food. Get stuffed!

Tales of Bacon

A Medieval Comedy Pilgrimage Webseries

omenana

Giving life to speculative fiction; because stories breathe here

Stitch's Media Mix

Books. Comics. Film. TV. Here be nerdery in spades.

maxrennblog

Busting out of Bristol, mainly movie talk

Aniket Sharma Photography

World through my lens

Del Nolan

None of it is real

Bolton the Writer

Author of Fantasy Fiction & Short Stories

Projected Figures

Film Bits and Bobs

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

Alien in the Outfield

The best in extra-terrestrial sports comic excitement!

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

