Spitballing

Just finished an hour and a half-long Skype session with a collaborator that I can only describe as writer’s room-ing.

It was intense. But good intense.

We were essentially spitballing ways to improve a couple of short scripts he’d written for the end of a webseries – no, not that series, but yes, the same guy – that we’re shooting at the end of the month.

I’m acting in a producer/script editor capacity so I had no involvement in the genesis or initial drafting of the scripts, so when we started the process a few months ago with the earlier episodes I was hesitant to say what I really thought.

It was different to working on I Am Tim, where we developed the story as a group and often got stuck into each other’s scripts and weren’t afraid to speak up when a possibly-beloved line wasn’t working.

Thankfully, we’re now at this stage with t’other project; I feel a lot more comfortable suggestion new lines or adjustments to structure and our long, long conversation was most fruitful.

[It might have something to do with my promotion to producer since we actually shot the first half of the series, but I’m not going to take that at face value.]

This is why I like knowing other writers and being able to work with them: in a situation like tonight, all both of you are doing is striving towards making a piece better.

And if you’re lucky, you’ll actually agree on what lines are crap half the time.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Spitballing

  1. […] has been rolling around in my mind the past couple of days, what with my contribution to the series I wrote about yesterday and my delving into the Mad Men Season 1 commentaries in the past couple of days (is there any […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Omm Nomm

We love food. Get stuffed!

Tales of Bacon

A Medieval Comedy Pilgrimage Webseries

omenana

Giving life to speculative fiction; because stories breathe here

Stitch's Media Mix

Books. Comics. Film. TV. Here be nerdery in spades.

maxrennblog

Busting out of Bristol, mainly movie talk

Aniket Sharma Photography

World through my lens

Del Nolan

None of it is real

Bolton the Writer

Author of Fantasy Fiction & Short Stories

Projected Figures

Film Bits and Bobs

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

Alien in the Outfield

The best in extra-terrestrial sports comic excitement!

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

