Jumping Ship

I think I’m done with Firefly.

Last night I attended a marathon screening of all 14 episodes and Serenity at a bar that has its own cinema (how cool is that?). I had a blast, don’t get me wrong, I still love the show, but by the time I got to sleep in the wee hours of this morning I’d pretty much decided that I wasn’t going to be watching them again for a good few years. Maybe not even this side of the ’20s.

I’m not sick of it. Well, not in the way you might think. It’s an astonishing body of work: thoughtful, exciting, hilarious television that ended too soon. It’s just kind of painful to keep revisiting these characters you once more grow to love only to have them taken away from you yet again.

It’s beginning to feel more than a little masochistic and downright regressive to go to the same set of toys and expect there to be more, or any of them to be any different.

I’ve read the comics. I like the comics; they’re new stories, and I’ll happily read any more that come along. Hell, with Float Out they’ve even started progressing the tale past Serenity, which is the best thing for the…do we still call it a show? I’ll be damned if I’m calling it a franchise, but it’s been 10 years since it aired and there’s a movie, there’re comics and models and posters and clothes – a cynical person might call it a brand, but the fandom is so strong that it feels much more like a way of life.

That sounds cornier than Iowa, I know, but you ask any true Browncoat what Firefly means to them and I guarantee there’ll be love in their eyes.

What I’m trying to say is that I need something new. A lot of folks think they’re never going to get new episodes or movies so they hang on to what they do have, which ain’t much. It’s not out of the realm of possibility that Firefly could get another season, but you can only hope so hard for so long before you have to move on.

And besides, if it were to happen? The most optimistic start date we could possibly hope for would likely be late 2015 at the earliest – assuming Joss Whedon leaves Marvel at the end of his exclusive 3-year contract and the S.H.I.E.L.D. show he’s developing crashes and burns after its first season. Oh, and all the writers, cast and crew lose the shows and projects they’re working on.

Firefly was a show about people in the future who couldn’t get over the past. You could say the same about us. Honestly, Whedon fans have more to be excited about than ever with Joss’s newfound industry clout, and I for one am thrilled about what the next couple of years might bring.

I’m glad that it’s still flying, but I think it’s time I ought to jump ship.

[Shit, I’ll probably still buy that short story collection, though.]

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Beyond Monopoly!

York's friendliest boardgame club!

Omm Nomm

We love food. Get stuffed!

Tales of Bacon

A Medieval Comedy Pilgrimage Webseries

omenana

Giving life to speculative fiction; because stories breathe here

Stitch's Media Mix

Books. Comics. Film. TV. Here be nerdery in spades.

maxrennblog

Busting out of Bristol, mainly movie talk

Aniket Sharma Photography

World through my lens

Del Nolan

None of it is real

Bolton the Writer

Author of Fantasy Fiction & Short Stories

Projected Figures

Film Bits and Bobs

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

alienintheoutfield.wordpress.com/

The best in extra-terrestrial sports comic excitement!

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

