Attack of the Killer Tree Trunks

Today logs were trying to murder me.

I was rearranging the vast piles of wood in my parents’ log shelter (yeah, middle class warning right here), a task which involves a Tetris-like level of organisation and patience if you don’t want to fear for your life under teetering columns of insect hotels.

Turns out that, while I think I’m a pretty good Tetris player, I haven’t exactly been able to transfer those skills to the real world and ended up on the wrong end of a couple of terrifying collapses. Luckily only one of them did any damage and just bruised my toe, but the job’s not yet finished and I know it’s only a matter of time before the dog comes across a broken, splintered hand sticking out of a potential IKEA catalogue.

To make myself feel better about my imminent death, I watched Adam Buxton (of the inimitable Adam & Joe)’s BUG, a show on Sky Atlantic in which the fuzzy funnyman presents innovative and extraordinary music videos along with the sometimes hilarious and regularly confounding comments left on their YouTube pages.

It worked, and here are a couple of reasons why:

Between these guys and Michel Gondry’s music video work, it looks like the French have the ‘insanely creative practical effects’  market fairly locked down, eh?

On this episode they also showed part of a video that combines historical commentary AND video games into one fantastic spectacle that’s well worth sitting through its 7-minute runtime:

That video has a pretty significant connection to (and just a little bit of  influence on) the award-winning* short film I made in my final year at uni, Pieces Falling Into Place. Now’s as good a time to check it out if you haven’t seen it before, and if you already have then why the heck not give it another whirl anyway?

Some of you who’ve witnessed my shameless self-promotion before now might be a little sick of me still flogging this horse, but I figure I should mention my past work on here at least once, y’know? Plus it’s my blog so I’ll do as I damn please.

Ahem.

Last but far from least is one of Count Buckules’s own songs, just because I love it so:

If you don’t smile at any point during it, then I’m really not sure we can be friends.

*Okay, so I may have gotten it at my uni’s end of course ceremony, but STILL. It’s made of glass and I get to keep it and everything.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Omm Nomm

We love food. Get stuffed!

Tales of Bacon

A Medieval Comedy Pilgrimage Webseries

omenana

Giving life to speculative fiction; because stories breathe here

Stitch's Media Mix

Books. Comics. Film. TV. Here be nerdery in spades.

maxrennblog

Busting out of Bristol, mainly movie talk

Aniket Sharma Photography

World through my lens

Del Nolan

None of it is real

Bolton the Writer

Author of Fantasy Fiction & Short Stories

Projected Figures

Film Bits and Bobs

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

Alien in the Outfield

The best in extra-terrestrial sports comic excitement!

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

