#001

Today is my birthday. I’m 22, which is the oldest I’ve ever been. Funny, that.

Anyway, I thought today was an apt a day as any to start blogging full-time. By ‘full-time’, I of course mean every day. For free. Because writers are supposed to do that – writing every day – if they want to stop sucking, and I’ve been kind of lax in that regard lately. Not that I haven’t been writing; in fact, this year so far has been my most productive ever.

I should probably start again. If people start reading this blog (which I hope/fear they eventually might), they might not be too familiar with what I’m all about.

Here’s a quick primer on who I am and what I do so we’re all up to speed:

–          My name’s Mark. Hi there! It’s nice to meet you. Not that we’ve necessarily met. If we haven’t, please don’t try to find me in person. We might not get on and I can’t take that kind of rejection.

–          Like I said, I’m 22.

–          Up until yesterday I lived in York, England, where I just finished a filmmaking degree that I am increasingly dismissive of. I just moved back to my hometown of Scarborough but plan to move back again at the end of summer, when my best friend comes back from America and his dad buys a house so I can pay him money to live in it. So I haven’t really moved home. I do hope we’re clear on that. Okay? Okay.

–          I’m a writer and a filmmaker. The ordering of that is important as I’m focusing more on the ‘writer’ part at the moment. Which isn’t to say filmmaking is a secondary interest to me, it’s just that I’d like to get good at one thing before I throw myself into something else.

–          In previous years I’ve written and directed short films, a web series and various corporate/vaguely commercial web and viral ads with varying degrees of success.

–          I’ve also attempted to write feature films, TV shows and get a couple of comics projects off the ground with varying degrees of failure.

–          In the last six months I’ve written two short films (one directed by myself, one not), played a major creative role in helping a fellow York filmmaker make two web series (including plotting and writing five or so episodes), started a mini production company, shot a fashion promo in London, disbanded said company, written a voiceover for a viral ad, started and finished a first draft of my first feature screenplay and agreed to co-write and produce that other filmmaker’s new feature.

Sounds like a lot when you put it all up there, doesn’t it? Maybe, but I’ve still been lazy. (And people still aren’t paying me for it, so I’m still not any good.) I haven’t written so much as a text or a half-assed Tumblr haiku for a couple of weeks now, and that needs to stop. I read a post by the wonderful Kelly Oxford the other day that mentioned the fact that she’d blogged every day for 12 years and decided that I really need to buck my ideas up if I want to do anything of merit before I’m old.

Y’know, like 23 or something.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Omm Nomm

We love food. Get stuffed!

Tales of Bacon

A Medieval Comedy Pilgrimage Webseries

omenana

Giving life to speculative fiction; because stories breathe here

Stitch's Media Mix

Books. Comics. Film. TV. Here be nerdery in spades.

maxrennblog

Busting out of Bristol, mainly movie talk

Aniket Sharma Photography

World through my lens

Del Nolan

None of it is real

Bolton the Writer

Author of Fantasy Fiction & Short Stories

Projected Figures

Film Bits and Bobs

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

Alien in the Outfield

The best in extra-terrestrial sports comic excitement!

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

